FR-44 Insurance

3

The penalties for being caught without insurance are steep. In Florida, it can mean up to $500 in fees and the loss of your license and registration. It’s just as severe in Virginia, where it could result in a Class 3 misdemeanor along with the same $500 fees as Florida.364925BF-22D7-405E-BBD3-A35489D76575 Created with sketchtool. Back
Shop rates and compare quotes

Get personalized auto insurance quotes by answering a few quick questions

Are you insuring multiple vehicles?

Yes

No

Are you currently insured?

Yes

No

Are you a homeowner?

Yes

No

Age

364925BF-22D7-405E-BBD3-A35489D76575 Created with sketchtool. 16-2021-2425-3435-4445-5455-6465+
ZIP Code

Hongshan, HB
Location-Icon Created with Sketch.
Find Matches

Quick Facts
Save $741 on average this year by shopping for new car insurance Rates vary by state up to 400% The average American pays $129/month for auto insurance Driving without car insurance is illegal in the U.S., but for some drivers, the high price of car insurance is more than they can afford, leaving many with no choice but to go without.
Not sure where to start?

Compare quotes
Close Icon Close Icon The widget will live hereThis is where FR-44 insurance could be the perfect solution.What is FR-44 Insurance?FR-44 Insurance, also known as an FR44, is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility. While the FR-44 is not actually insurance itself, it does prove that you carry the minimum amount of car insurance required by your state. FR-44 insurance is required when your record includes more serious offenses, such as DUI (driving under the influence), DWI (driving while intoxicated) or driving on a suspended license. This insurance is similar to SR-22 insurance, but the requirements are much different. An FR44 has much more stringent requirements and terms than the standard SR-22, and it can also have long-term ramifications, such as higher insurance premiums in the future. When you have a significant offense on your record, insurance companies will likely classify you as a high-risk driver and therefore will charge you much more for your annual premium.States where FR-44s are requiredAn FR-22 form is used specifically in two states: Virginia and Florida. Although both states require this form from your insurer, the requirements for each state are actually quite different.VirginiaThe Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires that you obtain an FR-44 if you have committed certain offenses on or following January 1, 2008, or if you have been mandated per court order to continue FR-44 certification.You will need an FR-44 if you have any of the following crimes on your record:
Driving on a suspended license or one forfeited due to a conviction
Driving while under the influence
Maiming under the influence
Violation of any federal, state or local law similar to the above
Virginia FR-44 liability insurance requires that you purchase a bare minimum amount of coverage. This includes the following protections in liability coverage.Virginia FR-44 Insurance Requirements

Bodily Injury Coverage per person
$50,000

Bodily Injury Coverage per accident
$100,000

Property Damage Coverage
$40,000

FloridaWhile set up similarly to Virginia, the Florida FR-44 carries far more significant penalties. As a popular vacation spot, Florida carries a higher rate of DUIs and DWIs than the national average, so state officials have cracked down on the penalties for those with a DWI or DUI conviction.There is one caveat, however: if your DUI or DWI conviction was on or before February 1, 2008, you are not required to obtain an FR-44. For all convictions thereafter, drivers in Florida must submit an FR-44.Florida requires significantly more liability coverage than Virginia does.Florida FR-44 Insurance Requirements

Bodily Injury Coverage per person
$100,000

Bodily Injury Coverage per accident
$300,000

Property Damage Coverage
$50,000

Additionally, Florida charges reinstatement fees based on the number of offenses that you have.Florida Reinstatement Fee Schedule

Type of Offense
Reinstatement Fee

First offense
$150

Second offense
$250

Third offense
$500

Based on these amounts, you need to find the best insurance provider for you who can provide you with this minimum amount of coverage and submit the required FR-22 to the state. Otherwise, your failure to obtain an FR-22 could result in the suspension of driving privileges and vehicle registration.How to get an FR-44 without a carNot all FR-44 holders actually own a car. Some people still want to hold a valid driver’s license so that they can drive when they want or need to. A lapse in car insurance can also mean more expensive car insurance premiums when you have a car again. If you have a valid driver’s license but don’t currently own a car, non-owner car insurance will ensure that you have uninterrupted auto insurance coverage that protects you if and when you slide behind the wheel.A non-owner auto insurance policy generally includes both bodily injury liability and property damage liability. Medical and uninsured motorist coverage may also be covered under your non-owner insurance policy. Damage to rental or borrowed vehicles is not usually covered, as well as things like comprehensive, collision and towing coverage, which require additional insurance. FR-44 vs SR-22While an FR-44 is limited to Florida and Virginia, an SR-22 is a type of certification widely used around the country. An SR-22 is very similar to an FR-44, but it doesn’t require such severe requirements. Instead, it requires that you carry the following minimum liability coverage.

Florida FR-44
Virginia FR-44
SR-22

Bodily Injury Coverage per person
$100,000
$50,000
$25,000

Bodily Injury Coverage per accident
$300,000
$100,000
$50,000

Property Damage Coverage
$50,000
$40,000
$20,000

Frequently asked questionsHow much does an FR-44 cost?Because your insurance provider handles the FR-44 for you, you will need to pay the company directly. The fee is minimal, usually between $15 and $25, and many providers simply add the cost onto your overall auto insurance premium. What FR-44 coverage do I need in Virginia? If you need to obtain an FR-44 in Virginia, you will need to purchase the minimum following coverage:
Bodily Injury Coverage per person: $50,000
Bodily Injury Coverage per accident: $100,000
Property damage coverage: $40,000
What FR-44 coverage do I need in Florida?If you live in Florida and are required to obtain an FR-44, you will need the following minimum coverage for your insurance:
Bodily Injury Coverage per person: $100,000
Bodily Injury Coverage per accident: $300,000
Property damage coverage: $50,000
How do I file my FR-44?Before you can obtain an FR-44, you first must get the required minimum amount of insurance coverage. When you purchase your new policy, you need to notify your insurance provider that you need an FR-44 and the company will submit it to the state on your behalf.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.